Hyperoptic fb
  • {{item.title}}
    • {{item.title}}
    • {{iitem.title}}
My account

What to do with an old Hyperhub router, Minihub, or battery back-up unit (BBU)?

What to do with an old Hyperhub router, Minihub, or battery back-up unit (BBU)?

hyperoptic broadband banner

How to return an old Hyperhub router, Minihub or BBU?


Who is eligible to return equipment?


The self-service return option in My Account is available to customers who have already requested to terminate their service.

You won’t be able to return your router using this option if:

  • You’re moving home.

  • Your service has ended because a new order has been placed at the same property.

  • Your property is classified as a New Build (NB), 100% Service, or Build to Rent (BTR) site.

If you have a Total WiFi Minihub, a Battery Back-up Unit (BBU), or your router is damaged, you’ll still need to return these items. If you don’t see the self-service return option in My Account, please contact us for assistance.


How do I return equipment?


To return a Hyperhub router, Minihub, or Battery Back-up Unit (BBU) that you no longer need, simply log in to My Account.


If you’re eligible to return equipment, you’ll see a ‘Return my Hyperoptic router’ section on your dashboard. From there, you can:

  1. Select Return my Hyperoptic router to generate your free returns QR code.

  2. View more information about returning your equipment.

If you’ve moved into a property with Hyperoptic equipment you don’t require, please call us on 0333 332 1138 and we’ll help arrange its return.


Please note, if you’re leaving Hyperoptic because you’re moving home and your Hyperhub router is in good working order, you can leave it in the property for the next resident.


Why it’s important to return our equipment?


Whether we’re replacing your router with a newer model, or you’ve decided to leave us and no longer need your Minihub, it’s important that you send back any old equipment so we can dispose of it properly (and remember – returning it to us is free!).

As a gentle reminder, unless you’ve specifically purchased an item from us directly (a BBU, for example), we loan our equipment to you for the duration of your service. This means, if you decide not to return an item, you will be charged for it. Charges do not apply if you’re leaving us due to a home move and we’ve asked you to leave your router for the next resident.


What we do with old equipment?


Often, we can re-use working parts from old equipment, so it doesn’t go to waste (don’t worry; your data will be completely wiped). Any parts that can’t be re-used will be recycled – so you’re doing your bit for the planet by returning it to us!